message    travel diary    exceptional places    About Me    rate this blog    submit    archive    theme
free counters


Patagonia, Republic of both Chile and Argentina, South America

Patagonia is an area of southern Chile and Argentina including the Andes mountains to the west and south, and plateau and low plains to the east. The region covers more than a million square kilometres (540,000 square miles), with about a quarter of the region in Chile and the remainder in Argentina. Broadly speaking, Patagonia starts at the southern edge of Buenos Aires province and descends through the Andes to the southern tip of the continent.
The Patagonian plateau is one of Mother Nature’s grand displays of mountain peaks, dazzling icebergs and glaciers and breathtakingly beautiful sceneries. The two most famous national parks are Tierra del Fuego, famous for its beauty and historical romance, and UNESCO World Heritage listed Torres del Paine National Park, which attracts hikers from all over the world.

Nowhere else are glaciers as accessible as they are in Patagonia but glaciers there, as in many parts of the world, are melting at what many scientists consider an alarming rate so if this one is on your too-see list you might want to put it to the top!

- Meaghan

photo one is from my cousin, photo two, photo three and four, photo five

9 notes
  1. jadameetsworld reblogged this from gotraveling
  2. s-akuratree reblogged this from gotraveling
  3. gotraveling posted this